The Jellinek Memorial Fund

2018 Award Winner        2017 Award Winner      Past Award Winners

In 1965 the Jellinek Memorial Fund was established to commemorate Dr. E.M. Jellinek's great contribul to the field of alcohol studies.  A capital fund has been developed and the interest from this Fund is used 1 provide an annual award to a scientist who has made an outstanding contribution to the advancement of knowledge in the alcohol/alcoholism field. 

Each year the Board of Directors of the Jellinek Memorial Fund designates the specific area of research which the award will be made, and appoints an Expert Selection Committee to review candidates i recommend an appropriate awardee. The awardee may be selected from any country, the sole criter being the scientific contribution that the person (or persons) has made within the selected category. 

1. The Award is to be given to the person deemed to have made, during the preceding years, the greatest scholarly contributi (other then those already honoured with the award) to human knowledge of problems relating to alcohol. in the designatec research area. 

2. The person selected for the award should be someone who would provide an example and serve as a model for others wh, might be attracted to work in the field. 

3. Only living scientists should be considered for the award. 

4. Advanced age or impending retirement would not disqualify someone from candidacy. However, if two or more scientists w considered approximately equal, the one more likely to continue longer in the field would be favored. 

5. If the "outstanding contribution" of a candidate was made more than ten years ago, consideration for the award would requ evidence of the candidate's continuing interest and active participation in alcohol research. 

6. Other factors being equal, a person whose primary identification continued to be in the field, would be favored. 

7. If a member of the Selection Committee is deemed eligible for the Jellinek Award, the Chair of the Selection Committee she consult with the President to request the resignation of the Committee member. 

8. If a previous award winner becomes a candidate and appears equal to or above all other candidates on the basis of uniqUE new achievements, he or she should not be ruled ineligible. The Chair of the Selection Committee should consult with the President to ensure that the Award is for new achievement and determine if he or she is eligible. 

9. The Award will normally be made to an individual researcher most highly recommended by the Selection Committee. In exceptional circumstances, if the Selection Committee recommends two persons of equal and outstanding merit who haVE both contributed to the same major advance in knowledge or concept, a joint Award may be made to the two.As a rule, however, the Award should be to one individual.  

2018 Award Winner

2018 Jellinek Award Winner


 Dr. Koob's research interests have been directed at the neurobiology of emotion, with a focus on the theoretical constructs of reward and stress. He has made contributions to our understanding of the anatomical connections of the emotional systems and the neurochemistry of emotional function. Dr. Koob has identified afferent and efferent connections of the basal forebrain (extended amygdala) in the region of the nucleus accumbens, bed nucleus of the stria terminalis, and central nucleus of the amygdala in motor activation, reinforcement mechanisms, behavioral responses to stress, drug self-administration, and the neuroadaptation associated with drug dependence. Dr. Koob's work with the neurobiology of stress includes the characterization of behavioral functions in the central nervous system for catecholamines, opioid peptides, and corticotropin-releasing factor. Corticotropin-releasing factor, in addition to its classical hormonal functions in the hypothalamic-pituitary-adrenal axis, is also located in extrahypothalamic brain structures and may have an important role in brain emotional function. Recent use of specific corticotropin-releasing factor antagonists suggests that endogenous brain corticotropin-releasing factor may be involved in specific behavioral responses to stress, the psychopathology of anxiety and affective disorders, and drug addiction. Dr. Koob also has characterized functional roles for other stress-related neurotransmitters/neuroregulators such as norepinephrine, vasopressin, hypocretin (orexin), neuropeptide Y, and neuroactive steroids. Dr. Koob also is one of the worldGÇÖs authorities on the neurobiology of drug addiction. He has contributed to our understanding of the neurocircuitry associated with the acute reinforcing effects of drugs of abuse and more recently on the neuroadaptations of these reward circuits associated with the transition to dependence. He has validated key animal models for dependence associated with drugs of abuse and has begun to explore a key role of anti-reward systems in the development of dependence. The identification of specific neurochemical systems within the basal forebrain system of the extended amygdala involved in motivation has significant theoretical and heuristic impact. From a theoretical perspective, identification of a role for dopaminergic, opioidergic, GABAergic, glutamatergic and corticotropin-releasing factor systems in the excessive drug taking provides a neuropharmacologic basis for the allostatic changes hypothesized to drive the process of pathology associated with addiction, anxiety, and depression. From a heuristic perspective, these findings provide a framework for further molecular, cellular and neurocircuit research that will identify the basis for individual differences in vulnerability to pathology 

2017 Award Winner

2017 Jellinek Memorial Award Winner


 Nick Heather is Emeritus Professor of Alcohol & Other Drug Studies in the Department of Psychology, Faculty of Health & Life Sciences, Northumbria University, Newcastle upon Tyne, UK. He obtained a BA(Hons) in Psychology from University College London in 1965, an MSc in Clinical Psychology from Leeds University in 1971 and a PhD from the University of Dundee in 1979. After working as a clinical psychologist in the UK National Health Service, he developed and led the Addictive Behaviours Research Group at the University of Dundee. In 1987 he became founding Director of the National Drug and Alcohol Research Centre at the University of New South Wales, Australia. He returned to the UK at the beginning of 1994 to take up a post as Consultant Clinical Psychologist at the Newcastle City Health NHS Trust and as Director of the Centre for Alcohol and Drug Studies in Newcastle. He took up his present position on retirement from the NHS in 2003. He has published over 500 scientific articles, books, book chapters and other publications, mostly in the area of addictions and with an emphasis on the treatment of alcohol problems and alcohol brief interventions. He is a co-founder and Honorary President of the New Directions in the Study of Alcohol Group (NDSAG) and a co-founder of the International Network on Brief Interventions for Alcohol & Drugs (INEBRIA).  In 2017 he was the winner of the Jellinek Memorial Award for “outstanding research and conceptual contributions on the interaction of individual and psychosocial factors in alcoholism”. 

Past Award Winners 1968-1980

Past Award Winners 1980-1990

Past Award Winners 2010 - Present